Surviving especially awful Mondays.

Thank God for coconut milk and THANK GOD for this recipe.  It saved my life today after the horrible news that an alternative offer (ie NOT OURS) for our most favorite house was accepted today.  Sadness and frustration abound.  Duck Dynasty is cheering my husband up (okay it is kind of hilarious), while comfort in food is more my speed.

Thai food has been making me really happy in the past year or so – I had quite a few bad experiences at a certain Thai restaurant in college that I never wanted to go near it again, until a co-worker forced me to try a new place and a specific dish and I was in love (first pad bamee, then peanut sauce).

There is not much to say about this besides a. thank you Jessica for making this exotic goodness accessible from home and b. I did not use a bowl for this, I ate half the pot, directly from the pot, over the course of 3 hours.  The bowl below is what I gave mr. mans & he went back three times to re-fill.

The messiest things are always the tastiest, no?

I did a few swaps and substitutes so I’ll type the whole recipe out the way I made it – but I encourage you to have a free-for-all in your ethnic food aisle.  There were so many choices but my grocery bill was already astronomical so I needed to keep it simple even though I wanted the bamboo shoots, water chestnuts, baby corn, etc etc.

Thai Chicken Quinoa

from howsweeteats//this recipe serves about 4

ingredients:

1 cup uncooked quinoa, rinsed
1.5 lbs chicken breast, cooked & shredded
1 red bell pepper, jullienned
1/2 cup shelled edamame
1/2 cup chopped green onions
1/4 cup chopped peanuts
1/4 cup freshly chopped cilantro

sauce
5 tablespoons sweet chili sauce
2 tablespoons rice vinegar
2.5 tablespoon canned coconut milk
1/2 tablespoon brown sugar
2.5 teaspoons creamy peanut butter (it mixes in easier if it’s melted, FYI)
2 garlic cloves (tip: grate this into the sauce with a microplane rather than chop)
Juice of 1 lime
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

method:

Prepare quinoa according to directions, use low-sodium chicken/veggie stock if you happen to have it on hand

Saute bell peppers until soft while quinoa is cooking, add edamame in the last few minutes of cooking

Combine all of the sauce ingredients together in a bowl and whisk well to combine. Once quinoa has absorbed all of the liquid, add in chicken, pepper, edamame and green onions, stirring to combine. Taste and season with a little salt and pepper if needed. Toss in the peanuts and cilantro.

Damage: 413 calories/39g carbs/17g fat/31g protein/7g fiber

3 thoughts on “Surviving especially awful Mondays.

  1. YUM! I love making ethnic meals at home, I feel like such a pro. PLUS I have been using coconut milk a decent amount lately and it is so nice to make healthy creamy dishes!

  2. Pingback: Beer-Braised Sriracha Chicken | Like a Fat Kid

Leave a Reply

