Beer-Braised Sriracha Chicken

Let’s talk recipe sharing – I don’t do that enough anymore.  I realized I love to pick recipes from internet/cookbooks and dissect everything as I am going about cooking it.  I rarely ever am satisfied with a recipe the exact way it is supposed to be made, and that is when we can have the most fun while cooking :)

Background: When I make meals during the week it’s usually something I’m not very excited about.  I try new recipes that are safe and healthy and I generally just eat it because I already have most of the ingredients and don’t have to spend too much money on groceries.

New project (because buying a house just isn’t enough)- I am building my pantry and purging my recipe binder of recipes that are just “meh” to my husband and I.  We eat at home every single night of the week most of the time, so it’s easy to get bored and I’m done with NOT ENJOYING my dinners because I was so focused on something easy and familiar. 

This week the new recipe I decided to try was another Asian dish after basking in the success of the Thai food I made last week.  It required beer that we happened to have on hand and chicken thighs or drumsticks (I used boneless/skinless thighs).  I am so sick of chicken breast that I am willing to have a little extra fat in my meal than more repulsive chewy tasteless-ness.  You could easily use chicken breast if you’d like, but you know my disdain for it- I have been cooking it for years and still haven’t found the magic touch to make it appetizing to me.

I had to buy the hoisin sauce and sesame oil- neither were over $5.00.  I have also never tried Sriracha, even though we’ve had it in the house for as long as I’ve been married.  My tastebuds are pleased with it.

Beer Braised Sriracha Chicken

Recipe slightly modified from Appetite for China//Serves about 4

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken thighs
  • 2 tablespoons peanut or vegetable oil
  • A bunch of scallions, white and green parts separated and thinly sliced
  • 8 oz mushrooms, stems discarded and caps quartered
  • 1/2 teaspoon white sesame seeds
  • 1 cup dark brown ale (we had Bass, but that’s actually considered light ale)
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1 tablespoon reduced sodium soy sauce
  • 1 tablespoon rice vinegar
  • 2 to 3 teaspoons Sriracha
  • 1/2 tablespoon hoisin sauce
  • 2 teaspoons sesame oil
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1-2 tbsp corn starch

Method

  1. In large skillet, heat the oil over medium-high heat. Sear the chicken on each side until light golden brown, about 3 minutes. Transfer to a plate and set aside (working in batches if you need to)
  2. Mix together the ingredients for the sauce. Return the chicken to the pan and pour the sauce over the chicken. Add the scallion whites and mushrooms. Bring the liquid to a boil, then reduce the heat to medium-low and allow everything to simmer uncovered for 15-20 minutes, until the chicken is very tender.  Add cornstarch to thicken the sauce toward the end.
  3. Serve over brown rice or vegetables, garnishing with sesame seeds and the greens of the scallions

Damage* 108 calories/6g carbs/7g fat/1g protein/4g sugar

*Don’t get excited, this is just for the mushrooms and sauce, as the nutrition facts will vary greatly based on the type of chicken used

3 thoughts on “Beer-Braised Sriracha Chicken

    • I loved it in this sauce… it was definitely the star. Funny enough I haven’t tried it on its own yet… my husband is always trying to put it in my omelettes and I will now allow him to do so ;)

  1. Pingback: Monday Meal Plan | Like a Fat Kid

Leave a Reply

