A post about healthy things

I have to toot some horns here about my workouts this week.  I worked out every single night after finishing up work around 4pm.  Ever since our Mexico trip my schedule was alllll over the place between vacationing, making up for vacation at work, moving, etc.  I’m so glad I’m back to being able to work 8-4, giving me plenty of time to work out before dinner time.  Should I be more consistent about posting workouts here?  I feel like my fitness posts completely contradict my entire life, because my mindset is all about food and vacationing.  The only reason I work out is to eat and the only reason I want to work/make money is to go on vacation (which is synonymous with being lazy and eating and drinking).

  • Monday – Fit Sugar’s Arm Plan, some random ab work
  • Tuesday – 2 mile run (not so good)
  • Wednesday – Fitness Magazine’s Metabolism-Boosting superset workout (I LOVE this one, it goes by so fast and is so good)
  • Thursday – 2 mile run (very good)
  • Friday – Immediately after publishing this, I plan on doing a shoulder workout and an in depth ab work out.  My glutes and hamstrings are still so sore from Wednesday’s supersets

I tried to be a chef the other night making the following dish.  First I burned the onions because I used olive oil by accident on high heat instead of grapeseed oil (let this be a lesson to all of you!) so I had to start over again with my wine sauce and then once the whole dinner was done I realized I didn’t cook the vegetables. This threw me so out of sorts but everything ended up coming together, even if I did have to throw the pasta in the microwave before adding the asparagus & mushrooms.  I hope you do better than this.

This dish is inspired by Ms. Skinny Taste‘s Poached Egg Asparagus Pasta, and while it happens to be super healthy I added more fat and calories because I am on a mission to create my own special go-to white wine sauce and thought it would be incredible with this.  It was pretty good but the wine sauce isn’t perfected yet.  Oh and I am TERRIBLE at poaching eggs, I think I might just fry them sunny-side up next time.  The necessary component to this is the runny egg yolk anyway so I suppose it doesn’t matter.

I kind of wish that egg was a giant piece of mozzarella cheese instead

Linguine with Asparagus Mushroom Wine Sauce

Ingredients:

  • 1 tbsp grapeseed or olive oil
  • 1/4 cup of white onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic (I didn’t have this so my sauce was less than superior), minced
  • 1/2 cup chicken broth
  • 1/4 cup dry white wine
  • 4-6 oz of baby bella sliced mushrooms
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  • 8 oz Alma’s whole wheat linguine <- obviously you could use your preference, but this is the only whole wheat pasta that has tasted good and rested well in my stomach without feeling like there is a rock in there.
  • A bunch or two of asparagus, chopped to 1/2 to 1 inch peices
  • 4 large eggs
  • Salt & pepper
  • Freshly shaved/grated parmesan cheese
Instructions:
  1. Put the water on to boil for the pasta.  While water comes to boil, in a saute pan, heat your oil and add onions and mushrooms, saute until just softened and add garlic, saute for another minute or so.
  2. Add chicken broth and wine, bring to a boil and then simmer until the liquid is reduced by about half
  3. Finish off the sauce with 1/2 to 1 tablespoon of butter, along with salt and pepper to taste
  4. Cook linguine per package directions (reserve 1/2 cup cooking water when draining), adding in the asparagus for the last 2 minutes of cooking
  5. While the pasta is cooking, poach your eggs, drain with slotted spoon and put them aside
  6. Drain pasta and add to the wine sauce, along with the cooking water if the sauce is too thick for your liking (if the sauce looks TOO thin, add a tiny bit of flour at a time until you see your desired thickness)
  7. Divide pasta among four bowls, top with poached egg, parmesean cheese, and fresh cracked black pepper & salt to taste

Damage: 378 calories/45g carbs/13g fat/19g protein/7g fiber

*If you make this without the wine sauce & use the egg yolk as the only sauce, it saves you 78 calories & 6g fat*

3 thoughts on “A post about healthy things

  1. I love that you admit to “improvising” when cooking, seeing all these pretty food pics on blogs I wonder if I’m the only one breaking things in the background, nice to know I have company : )

  2. Pingback: Monday Meal Plan | Like a Fat Kid

Leave a Reply

