The Healthiest Recipe You’ll Ever See On This Blog

Mamma G does not have a good reputation in the kitchen.  Growing up, my father who worked 50+ hours a week cooked for us or we went over to Grandma’s.  If neither of those two events occured, we were having breaded chicken cutlets or chicken soup for dinner.

I do have to give it to her, those two things were made from scratch and made well, but still.  She’s a mom and it was the running joke of our childhood that we were deprived of delicious home-cookin’.  This lady also doesn’t like butter or cheese and prefers to eat yogurt for lunch and salad for dinner…

WHO DID I COME OUT OF?

I was blown off my rocker (ok, I don’t even have a rocker to begin with) when she told me the other day that she’d like to cook for Mr. Mans & I.

I actually have never had a frittata before so I gave her a chance, and SHE DID IT.  She made something good without butter or cheese.  I think it’s her grandmotherly instincts coming along since she has QUITE a tough act to follow. Omnomnom.

Mamma G’s Asparagus Frittata 

Makes appx. 8 slices.  You can absolutely add cheese to this- I’d like to try it with Parmesan!

Ingredients:

  • Olive oil, or sauteing oil of choice
  • 3 medium russett potatoes, chopped
  • 1 medium white onion, julienned
  • 1 bunch of asparagus, cut into 1 inch pieces
  • 9 large eggs
  • Salt & pepper

Instructions:

  1. Heat olive oil on medium high heat in a 12 inch non-stick pan
  2. Saute potatoes and onions until they start to soften
  3. Add asparagus, cook until onions become translucent in color, turn heat to low
  4. Crack eggs together in a separate bowl, mix together and add into the pan
  5. Cook covered  on low heat until “I have no idea, just until the top looks pretty well done.  Just make sure you don’t burn the bottom
^^ Oh thanks mom.  Hopefully y’all have cooked a frittata before.

Damage (1 slice): 159 Calories/12g Carbs/9g Fat/8g Protein/3g Fiber

One thought on “The Healthiest Recipe You’ll Ever See On This Blog

  1. Pingback: The little things « Like a Fat Kid

Leave a Reply

