happy holiday weekend

I wish more than anything that we had a grill and a pool for this weekend.

I have a newly unemployed husband running around our house cleaning everything (fantastic), making “no soliciting” signs for our front door (good?), bothering me about his resume every five seconds (can’t you see i’m trying to work here, bro?), and when he gets really desperate, turns on music and starts dirty dancing with my lime green resistance band (HALP).

I sigh, carry on, and Thank God for my good job that not only allows me to provide for our basics, but also allows me to work from home where I don’t need to commute and be stressed and take it up the you know what every time I fill up my gas tank once a week.

& I thank God for good friends willing to do cheap things with us to entertain us on our Memorial Day Weekend.

Thank you for listening, here is a recipe in return for your time.

This Italian peasant dish was originally presented in one of my first entries –  but I’ve recently perfected it to my tastes.  This is GOOD.  If you have red wine on hand, use it, but if you have an unemployed husband like me, save it for drinking, you will need it.

Pasta Fazool

Serves 6                                  

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup minced onion
  • ½ lb lean ground beef
  • 2 cloves minced garlic
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 5 cups chicken broth
  • 1 cup red wine (optional)
  • 16oz tomato puree
  • 2 cups ditalini
  • 1 can of cannellini beans
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 cup grated parmesan

Method:

1.      In large pot, cook onion in olive oil for about 5 minutes, then add ground beef until brown, add the garlic last.

2.     After about 3 minutes of cooking garlic, add 4 cups of the broth, wine (if using, if not, use all 5 cups of broth), and tomato puree, bringing to boil

3.     Add pasta and cook about 2 minutes longer than package instructions.  Add beans & remaining chicken broth the last 5 minutes of cooking

4.     Season with salt & pepper and serve sprinkled with cheese

Damage: 393 Calories/40g carbs/13g fat/28g protein/9g fiber

Leave a Reply

