No one has to know I’m running from our problems

I have a formal complaint to make.

My husband is not allowing me to run away to my parent’s house in Connecticut.  He even made rolls from scratch last night to keep me here, and bought me all the ingredients to make cookies.  I need cookies.  And my mom.

I’m so proud of him though, he found this recipe all by himself (even though I probably have 15 I’ve saved in the past, but brownie points anyway because they taste good).  I plan on using these rolls all week since we have some chicken and ground beef in the freezer… I’m going to experiment with some sauces and veggie toppings to create some tasty budget friendly sandwiches.  These are huge, by the way.  Consider cutting them smaller even though the recipe states to cut the dough into 8 pieces.

Hamburger Rolls

Makes 8 very large rolls, adapted from King Arthur Flour

Ingredients

  • 1 package active dry yesast
  • 1 cup lukewarm water
  • 1/4 cup sugar + 1 tablespoon
  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1 egg
  • 3 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 1/4 tsp salt
  • 1 egg & sesame or poppy seeds (for topping, optional)

Method

  1. Dissolve yeast in warm water in a small bowl.  Stir in sugar and sit until bubbly, about 10 minutes
  2. Mix all of the dough ingredients together, including the yeast mixture.  Knead by hand (on a floured surface), mixer (I used my kitchenaid with the dough hook), or bread machine until you get a smooth dough that doesn’t stick
  3. Put dough in a large, oiled bowl, cover and allow to rise until doubled in size.  This will take about one hour.
  4. Deflate the dough, and divide into 8 equal pieces, shape each piece into a circle about 1″ thick and flatten to about 3″ across.  Place the buns on a lightly greased baking sheet, cover, and let rise for another hour.
  5. For the topping, beat egg with 1 tbsp water, brush over tops and sprinkle with seeds
  6. Bake at 375 for 12-16 minutes, and cool on wire racks when finished.

Damage (1 Roll): 238 calories/46g carbs/4g fat/6g protein/2g fiber/9g sugar

Leave a Reply

