sunday state of mind

It’s Monday and I’m still making bad food choices.

This is all I’m allowing myself for lunch because I happened to inadvertantly make a really lavish dish for dinner on Sunday night that is completely inappropriate, as was us going to Smokey Bones on Saturday night (we had a coupon and were bored).  Thank goodness I exercised some form of self control and saved the pulled pork for lunch today.

Every time I glanced over this recipe I kept thinking it was so easy and decently healthy… probably because every time I went through the butter part of the ingredients list I saw “1/4 STICK butter” instead of…

= 1 whole stick of butter

Are you kidding me?  I don’t know WHAT food and wine magazine was smoking that they felt the need to only divide this recipe into FOUR servings, but I’m Italian AND a fat kid inside and I never once perceived an entire pound of pasta to equate to four servings.  I’m insisting on stretching this out for six servings (the up side is that we have dinner already made for tonight and tomorrow) which is like, this much.

Which doesn’t look that bad but I will tell you that it’s on a tiny salad plate and still has 20 grams of fat.  Maybe I can stretch this to eight servings.  What was I thinking adding the full amount of butter to this thing?  I was surely in a Sunday state of mind.  This is obviously a decadently delicious and simple dish that I think you should try and maybe halve the butter if you don’t want to be the size of knocked up Jessica Simpson after two servings.

I also kind of wanted to add garlic to this but decided to stick to the recipe because I was fascinated with the entire thing (I’ve never had balsamic vinegar in a pasta sauce before.  Chicken, yes, but never pasta).  I should have added garlic… I think then it would be justifiable to subtract some butter though it would be a totally different flavor.

Also, use good balsamic vinegar.

First, chop and roast your asparagus with olive oil and salt and pepper for about 10 minutes at 400 degrees.

While the asparagus is roasting, start reducing 1/2 cup plus 2 tablespoons of balsamic vinegar in a small saucepot, adding in 1/2 teaspoon of brown sugar and 1/4 teaspoon of pepper (brings out the flavors of the balsamic exceptionally and compliments the butter like woahh.  but don’t be confused, this is not the time to add butter yet.  i almost did this and it might have been just as good if not better.)  Start your pasta at this point and cook according to package instructions.

Get your butter ready, chop it into tiny pieces because you’re just going to throw it in with the balsamic glaze, some salt to taste, and the roasted asparagus.  Be prepared to go to butter heaven, and then treadmill heaven.

There goes the whole stick of butter… nom

Check out the recipe here, at Food& Wine’s website, and check out the damage below if you were to stretch this into 6 servings.  Oh, and I made this with whole wheat pasta if you couldn’t tell…extra protein and fiber since there is no meat in this dish.

Damage: 506 calories/70g carbs/19g fat/14g protein/8g fiber/7g sugar

Leave a Reply

