fat kid go to dish: black beans & rice

Do you know how much I love and cherish lunch meat sandwiches?  I grew up eating a Boar’s Head turkey sandwich every day of my life for years, and years, and years.  Then there was that terrible time in college where I had to eat cheeseburgers every day at the cafeteria and forgot about the beloved turkey that is my Ovengold Roasted Boar’s Head.

I made this for you.  I’ve been making it in the few weeks that mr. mans was unemployed as a cheap lunch and perfecting it and it only took me two batches.  I love this.  I love that it saves me from $15 turkey and cheese once a week.  So you’re welcome, even though you’re probably not dumb enough to waste your money on high end lunch meat every week.

Easy peasy

Cut a huge onion coarsely and cook until translucent, then add at least 2 cloves of garlic (I used 3 and it still wasn’t enough for me)

Saute the rice a little bit before cooking; it amps up the flavor and makes it toasty

do NOT add the chili powder in this fashion; spilling a giant container of it all over the world

and add beans, tomatoes and all the spices you’d like!  i adore this dutch oven by the way; i just found it after moving.  it’s all clad and probably a million dollars, but it’s LIGHT and NOT STICKY and i’m in love.

Black Beans & Rice

Serves 6

Ingredients:

  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 medium white or yellow onion, diced
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 1 cup brown rice
  • 2 cups low-sodium chicken or vegetable broth
  • 1 can stewed tomatoes, chopped
  • 3.5 cups black beans
  • 2 tbsp chili powder
  • ½ tsp pepper
  • 2 tsp season salt

Method:

  1. In a saucepan or dutch oven, sauté garlic cloves and onion in oil over medium-low heat.   Add the rice and sauté for about two minutes
  2. Add the chicken broth, bring to a boil and cook the rice on medium-low heat for 20 minutes (for instant rice) or 50 minutes (for regular dry rice)
  3. Add can of tomatoes, beans and seasonings to taste
  4. Serve with chopped raw onions and a drizzle of olive oil

Damage: 314 Calories/62g carbs/5g fat/15g protein/11g fiber

Leave a Reply

