Queso Dip Mac & Cheese

Well lookie what I made.

Big ball of home made queso going into my pasta. I LIKE

I made queso for … what else…. mac and cheese!  I can’t get away from mac and cheese and I’m convinced I’ll never be able to try all of the different variations I have inspiration for before I die.

I made the sauce Sunday night simply because I am always ravenous when I get home from the gym and if I try and cook when I’m that hungry… my kitchen would look like a tornado blew through it and you’d find me licking cheese off the floor.

No bueno.  Also no bueno?  My husband’s comment in a sing song toddler voice about my first ever home made queso dip.

“It’s not like it’s the BEST ONE ever, Raychel.  Stop being obsessed with it.”

Thanks doting and appreciative husband of mine ❤  See what happens when I leave you for a week with nothing but a pantry and a stove (I promise you the only product of that environment would be omlettes and pb&j for the rest of the week).

Here is what you really want, the recipe for my new version of Mexican mac & cheese.   The website I got this inspiration from prepared it in a baked fashion with TWO CUPS of cheese sprinkled on top but I wanted to keep it under 50g of fat per serving, so I just made it the traditional way as a sauce.   Don’t pass out when you see the nutrition facts, you could serve this in smaller portions as the original recipe intended it for 8.  Also, there was no low fat cheddar at the store for some reason this time, so i had to use full fat.  This will probably shave about 5-10 g fat per serving off.

Queso Dip Mac & Cheese

Adapted from Picky Palate, Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/4 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 1/2 cups reduced sodium chicken broth
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1/2 cup pico de gallo
  • 2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 cup finely chopped onions
  • 1 tablespoons minced garlic
  • 1 pound lean ground beef
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • One 10 ounce can Rotel tomatoes, mild
  • 1 tablespoon ground cumin
  • 1 tablespoon fresh lime juice
  • 3/4 pound small pasta of your choice (I used Alma’s whole wheat)

Method

  1. Place butter into a medium saucepan over medium heat. Stir to melt. Whisk in flour, salt and pepper for about 30 seconds until bubbly. Slowly whisk in chicken broth until smooth. Increase heat to high while whisking until thickened. Takes 3-5 minutes. Stir in cheese and salsa, turn off heat and set aside.
  2. Place 2 tablespoons olive oil in medium skillet over medium heat. Saute onions until softened, about 5 minutes. Add garlic and cook for an additional minute. Add ground beef, salt and pepper, cooking until browned. Add tomatoes, cumin and lime juice, stir to combine.
  3. Cook pasta according to package directions, drain and run under cold water
  4. Combine beef, queso sauce, and pasta and serve with sprinkled cheddar on top

Damage: 584 calories/49g carbs/30g fat/30g protein/6g fiber

3 thoughts on “Queso Dip Mac & Cheese

Leave a Reply

