Sometimes diet tips are true.

You know I never really understood the people that tell you that spicy food helps you lose weight, but I had two tiny tacos of this and I felt SO FULL.

This is my new favorite spicy, Mexican style recipe.  The chipotle garlic sauce adds so much depth and beautiful smoky flavor that separates it from the generic lime/salsa/cilantro profile that makes you think every Mexican dish contains the same ingredients stuffed into different starchy vehicles (I’m looking at you, Taco Bell).

The only thing is I hate shredding chicken, but I’ll get over it.  For once, I didn’t modify this recipe AT ALL, it was perfect in every way.  If you can’t handle spicy, add more sour cream to the sauce (maybe Greek yogurt if you’re concerned about health?  i don’t know anything don’t listen to me)…this was hotter than I expected, but welcomed.

I hope your weekend is treating you well – It’s wicked stormy here down on the west coast of Florida… I expect myself to eat copious amounts of cookies this weekend, since when I’m at home and have nothing to do I bake, bake, bake. *facepalm*.

Chicken in Chipotle Cream Sauce

from FromAway.com                                        Serves about 6

 Ingredients:

  • 3 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil, divided
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1/2 a 7 oz can chipotle in adobo (whole peppers and sauce)
  • 2 large garlic cloves
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 white or yellow onion, sliced
  • 8 oz white button mushrooms, sliced (I left them whole)
  • 1 teaspoon flour
  • 1/4 cup sour cream (I used light daisy, which is reflected in the nutrition facts)
  • Flour tortillas

Method:

  1. Combine chipotles and adobo sauce with garlic and milk in a food processor.
  2. Cook seasoned chicken breasts over medium heat in 1 tablespoon vegetable oil; remove to a plate and shred into big pieces.
  3. Add the other teaspoon of oil to the pan and saute onions and mushrooms, approximately 10 minutes.
  4. Return roughly shredded chicken to the pan and turn down the heat.
  5. Add the flour and stir for one-two minutes, then pour in the chipotle mixture. Increase the heat and bring to a boil; let the mixture simmer and reduce
  6. Turn off the heat and stir in the sour cream.  Serve in tacos, over salad, or even on a sandwich!

Damage (just the chicken & sauce): 431 calories/10g carbs/13g fat/43g protein/3g fiber

7 thoughts on “Sometimes diet tips are true.

Leave a Reply

