This is me thinking I am super healthy

Two things today:

I LOVE MARINADES!

I HATE LEG WORKOUTS!  Don’t cardio work outs such as spining, kickboxing, and running work your legs enough?  I did an epic and painfully wobbly leg work out yesterday by combining two livefit leg work outs (also subbing and what not, forget this program, it’s getting ridiculous and I don’t want to look like a body builder so I’m just using it to structure my own made up workouts.).  If you’d like to not be able to walk for the rest of the day because your legs are buckling, I invite you to try the following;

Lol at me being too lazy to recreate this without the stupid red spelling error underline.

Please note that I have no formal training, I just put together work outs that I feel are best for my abilities and body type.  This took me about 1 hour to complete, and I will reiterate again, I’ve been working out for 5 weeks at this intensity level and I was still very sore afterward.  Maybe I’m just a little baby weakling though.

Now to the marinades – I have recently stumbled upon this website: GroceryBudget101.com.  Grilling marinated chicken is my go to healthy meal when I just need something light and wholesome, and this Key West Chicken just sounded divine.  This is the second time I made it and added an extra clove of garlic because I don’t like kissing my husband.

Really though, the lime and garlic just marry together and caramelize into a sweet and tangy glaze on the chicken.  PLEASE grill this, and if you don’t have a grill, cook it on cast iron (like we did).  Also, since I had such a hard time with chicken for so long- I learned to take it out of the fridge about 15 minutes before grilling, that way it won’t toughen up and will cook evenly from room temperature.

You have everything you need for this.  Perhaps you have to buy a 30 cent lime.

Dump liquids into a giant freezer bag (I skip the whole “whisk in a small bowl” because I’m lazy and my dishwasher fills up far too frequently)

Add garlic, and shake it up.

Then marinate for at least 30 minutes… I like to keep it in the marinade at least half the day, so I put it in the late morning when I’m finishing my second cup of coffee.

Grill the chicken to perfection, and serve with a nice chilled corn, edamame, and tomato salad (or garlic mashed potatoes if you want some carbs).  I should have added some cucumber but I was so hungry at the time my brain was broken.  I dressed it with some sea salt, olive oil, and balsamic.

Key West Chicken Marinade

From GroceryBudget101.  Makes enough for up to 4 boneless, skinless chicken breast halves.

  • 3 tbsp low sodium soy sauce
  • 2 tbsp honey
  • 1 tbsp vegetable oil
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped

Combine all ingredients in a plastic freezer bag and marinate for a minimum of 30 minutes.  Do what you please with it.

One thought on “This is me thinking I am super healthy

Leave a Reply

