Please, don’t ever let me skip a night at the gym again.

Thanks to that grueling leg work out I did at the beginning of the week and following it up with kickboxing the next day, my *ahem* inner thighs have been out of commission for two days now.  I didn’t know what to do with myself upon finding an extra 2 hours at home in the evening, so I walked into the kitchen and decided to make a gourmet meal, inspired by my old school Rachael Ray book.

It involved another marinade, and basically any type of protein you want to use it with.  We had some thin sliced sirloin steaks in the fridge so I figure I’d use them and pair them with sweet potatoes to continue my out of character healthy streak.  But then, after using only 1/2 of the onion I had to cut for the marinade, an evil thought filled my head and I couldn’t stop it, there was no more control.

Should I let you guess where I’m going with this?

So I did this.

Has anyone spotted the goggles? The onion was stronger than usual and that is my secret weapon to keep from crying.

AND THEN THIS

Doughnut?

And while all of this was happening I forgot about the potatoes and left them in the microwave too long and they became hard and inedible.  Oops.  At least the pup was able to enjoy the extra nutrients.  Want to see me in my element on a day I can’t walk and haven’t put on real clothes?  No?  K.

I managed to make a mushroom gravy too while I was waiting for the onions to turn into crispy, golden brown nuggets of heaven.   This was the most flavorful piece of beef I’ve had in a very long time (yes, even counting restaurants, and no, not counting the onion rings).    I am pleased.

I was cursing the lighting and just had to give up and eat because it was getting cold.

Below you will find the three parts of this recipe (For the love of all things skinny, omit the onion rings and try green beans.  They will taste great with the gravy).

Any-Meat Marinade

Will cover about 1.5lb-2lbs of meat

  • 3 tbsp red wine vinegar
  • 1/3 cup olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1.5 tbsp italian seasoning
  • 2 tbsp dried parsley

Combine all ingredients into a large freezer bag.  Marinate meat for at least 10 minutes before grilling.  *Make sure meat comes to room temperature before cooking.

Mushroom Gravy

  • 2 tbsp butter
  • 1/2 chopped medium onion
  • about 4oz cremini mushrooms
  • 1.5 tbsp flour
  • 1 cup beef/chicken/vegetable stock
  1. Add butter to the skillet and melt.  Then add onions and mushrooms until cooked, about 5 minutes (or when onions become translucent in color)
  2. Add flour to the pan and whisk until combined thoroughly, about 1 minute
  3. Whisk in stock and reduce for 2-3 minutes.  Pour over meat and vegetables.  This tastes great on top of everything.

Restaurant Style Beer Battered Onion Rings

Serves about 3-4 people as a snack, less if you are striving for a week of guilt and remorse

  • 1/2 large onion
  • 1 cup milk (any amount of fat content will do)
  • 1 cup all purpose flour + more for dredging
  • 1 bottle of lager beer (but I think any beer you like the taste of will do, we used an ale but it wasn’t strong/flavorful enough)
  • At least 1 cup of canola or peanut oil
  1. Chop center of onion out in a circle and separate, creating thick rings
  2. Dip rings in milk, then dredge in flour, then dip in batter with tongs, letting excess batter drip off
  3. Fry in oil until golden brown, and transfer to plate triple lined with paper towels, and salt to taste

Regarding the oil – if you’ve never fried before, obviously be careful.  I don’t have a candy thermometer so I had no way to take the temperature of the oil (should be about 375 degrees), so what I did was dip my wooden spoon (very gently and slowly) into the oil, and if it sizzles just a little bit, then it’s ready to go.  Turn it down if it splatters all over the place until it just sizzles when contacted with the wooden spoon.

You are crazy if you think I am going to calculate the nutrition facts for fried onion rings.

Thank you and have a fabulous weekend.  You deserve it.

🙂

3 thoughts on “Please, don’t ever let me skip a night at the gym again.

      • Have you noticed I haven’t posted up any food this week while I’ve been in Philly : ) Some one has been a hungry lady and is about to go suffer a run in this 100+ degree weather because of it. And skip dinner in luie of vodka. We all have our vices.

Leave a Reply

