Questionable TV choices and brownies.

I have been trying to get into new tv shows lately, because I live with a man that questions his decision of buying me diamonds every day when he looks at the DVR list of recorded shows.  A sampling of things you may find if you turn on my television, feel free to judge.  I am not proud of my choices:

  • The View (every day, I can’t not.)
  • Teen Mom
  • Pretty Little Liars
  • Cupcake Wars
  • Any Kardashian show (I want them to go away so bad, only because I’m jealous…but I CAN’T TURN AWAY)
  • anddd one show I will never admit to anybody but a couple of best friends (not even all of them)

In an attempt to find new TV shows to watch, the kind that will keep my husband in the room and snuggling me on the couch, I started recording this Dallas show.  I’m watching it right now and it’s the 3rd or 4th episode I think and I’m not too sure I’m into it.  I love the idea of it but I can’t follow what’s going on so I’m losing interest.  Mr Mans & I do have a common show that we love (Breaking Bad), but I want to expand our horizons!  No zombie shows or movie channel shows (we dont’ have them), please.

What a freakin’ tangent.

To reward you, I’m showing you a brownie recipe that will blow your mindskies. Well, really your tastebuds.

I had this theory that the recipe called for too many marshmallows, and I was 100% correct.

This is all of the marshmallow that fell/mushed off when I was cutting the brownies and trying to keep them presentable.

Dear husband and future children, good luck not become obsese as long as you have me around.  A few tips.  USE PARCHMENT PAPER.  You will be eating these with a spoon from the brownie pan if you don’t use parchment paper.  Not that isn’t a desirable thing, but if you’re trying to feed other people, it would be embarrassing.  Fit it to your pan so that it rises just a half an inch above it, and cut slits in the corners so it fits just snug with no wrinkles.

I combined quite a few different recipes together to accommodate ingredients I had on hand.  I sort of want to just call them “eat these with a fork brownies”.  You’ll be really sorry if you don’t.

S’More Brownies

Makes 24 brownies

Ingredients:

Crust

  • 8 tbsp butter, melted
  • 3 cups crushed graham cracker crumbs
  • 4 tablespoons granulated sugar
  • pinch of salt
Brownie
  • 1 cup (2 sticks) butter
  • 2 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 large eggs
  • 3/4 cup unsweetened cocoa
  • 1 cup all purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp salt
Topping
  • 1 bag of jumbo marshmallows

Method:

Position a rack in the lower third of the oven and heat to 325 degrees.  Line a 9×13 inch baking pan with parchment paper so it hangs over the edges by about 1/2 inch.

Let’s make crust: Lightly butter the pan with some of the melted butter.  Stir the rest of the butter together with the crumbs, sugar, and salt in a medium bowl.  Press the crumb mixture evenly over the bottom of the pan.  Bake until golden brown, about 20 minutes.

And brownies (feel free to sub your favorite recipe): Place butter in medium saucepan on the stove.  Heat over medium heat until butter is melted.  Remove from heat and stir in sugar and vanilla extract.  Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well after each addition.  Add cocoa and stir until blended.  Add flour, baking powder, and salt; stir until combined.  Pour batter into prepared pan and bake until you insert a toothpick into the middle and it comes out mostly clean (and I mean mostly, we don’t want dry brownies!) 35-40 minutes.  37 minutes was perfect for me.

Remove from oven and carefully position a rack about 6 inches from the broiler and preheat it on low.  Layer marshmallows across the top and toast under the broiler about 2 minutes until browned, but do not take your eyes off them as the process is extremely quick.

Damage(1 brownie): 308 calories/47g carbs/13g fat/1g protein/1g fiber/35g sugar

Annnnd now I am officially fueling my spin class work out tonight by a sample of one of these.  I had to make sure they tasted good before I gave them to OTHER people, duh.

2 thoughts on “Questionable TV choices and brownies.

    • It is surely an epidemic :O

      Those sound like good ones… we record everything so we never see commercials for new shows. Thanks for the suggestions, I will check them out!

Leave a Reply

