Healthified Chicken with Lemon Butter Sauce

You know when you’re a good wife when you are leaving for a trip and the one thing your husband is concerned about is what he is going to eat when you’re gone.  Keep him around ladies, cook him stuff.  NOT diet stuff (see previous post).

I am kind of having a hard time with all this dieting advice I’ve been reading.  Not that I am trying to go on a diet, but I’m finding myself hitting a wall with my workouts and I know I will get such better results if I change my diet somehow.. I hope?  I’m fine with how I look, but if I’m working out more than I ever have, shouldn’t I be seeing a change?  Change is nice sometimes.  Unless it’s upping a pants size change. I get irrational fears and one of them right now is working out will make me fat.

My philosophy has always been enjoying everything in moderation, and then this whole health trend started so I figured I might start eating more natural foods and it’s a good thing.  I started making more things from scratch and it eventually led me to become more and more passionate about cooking (I used to only be into baking).  But then after all this preaching on my soapbox I came home with this.

I don’t even like slow churned ice cream.  It tastes fake to me.  But I only eat it for the cookie dough an brownie chunks anyway, and Edy’s has great cookie dough.

So I made this for us, a fat kid fit meal, if you will…with WHOLE FOODS and I even reduced the fat content for us, so we can feel better about eating slow churned ice cream in desperation….only in emergencies of course.  The good thing about this is that it doesn’t taste like “diet stuff”, evidenced by a man really enjoying it.  Great low carb meal, OK on fat content… since I reduced the butter the sauce was very wet, which we didn’t mind, but to give you a heads up, the recipe calls for double the butter (1/2 stick) if you don’t mind a little more junk in that cute little trunk of yours 🙂  Sorry, was that creepy?

Chicken Romano w/ Lemon Butter Sauce

Adapted from How Sweet It Is (one of my favorites!)                   Serves 4

  • 4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 tablespoons grapeseed oil (or olive oil)
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cups romano cheese
  • 3/4 chicken stock
  • 1/4 stick butter
  • 1 whole lemon
  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 1/2 tablespoon dried parsley

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 350. Add oil to skillet on medium heat.
  2. Tenderize chicken, then dredge through flour, egg and cheese. Place in skillet and brown on both sides. Once brown, turn off heat.
  3. Melt butter in a separate sauce pan or deep skillet. Add lemon juice and chopped up lemons, try to discard all seeds. Add white wine and parsley and bring to a boil. Then pour entire mix into chicken skillet, add chicken stock.
  4. Cover and bake for about 20 minutes at 350. I served with whole wheat spaghetti, but you can also use rice or if you really want to be healthy, stick with a salad or pour the sauce over steamed veggies.

Damage (1 serving of chicken & sauce)402 Calories/14g carbs/17g fat/39g protein/1g fiber

Leave a Reply

