I finally made something

There are a few things i need to consciously do to enhance this lonely blog of mine (as of late).

#1: Get more into photography

#2: For goodness sakes’… BRING MY CAMERA PLACES AND DO COOL THINGS!  I went to a really interesting prosecco/champagne tasting on Friday night… did I take one picture?  Did I make one note of which ones I liked and what I liked about them?  No, I just lived.  Which is sometimes okay, because I come across certain blog posts and think… did they actually do any of this stuff or just play paparazzi for the evening and let everyone else have all the fun?  Here, I will take a picture now of the wines we tasted.  The only reason why I can remember my favorite was because I noticed that it was the second most expensive of the spread.

#3: In that case, learn to have a good balance of living and documenting.  I love documenting.  Which was why I created this blog in the first place.  I have a list for everything and write down every thought and activity I do in my planner.  Obviously I needed a blog for my creative outlet.

This thing that I made last week… it is certainly on the weirder side of recipes I’ve ever made.  I can’t decide if I like it or not, so feel free to try it for yourselves.  It just reminds me of something Rachael Ray would make, a franken-dish, encompassing a bunch of different pre-made and often processed ingredients that would surely please little kids but not necessarily their adult counterparts.  I also hate hate hate how much sugar is added from the BBQ sauce.  I went to buy a low-sugar organic one but it was over $5 and just not fit for the budget this time around.  I encourage you to get fancy with this if you do try it and make your own barbecue sauce.

Skillet BBQ Chicken Pasta

From A Taste of Home Cooking

Ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil
  • 2 boneless skinless chicken breasts, cut into bite-size chunks
  • 1 red onion, diced
  • 3 1/2 cups water
  • 2 1/2 cups chicken broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 package (16 oz) whole wheat penne pasta (I used Alma’s)
  • 1 cup barbecue sauce (I used sweet baby ray’s)
  • 1/3 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup shredded pepperjack cheese
  • 1/2 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Method

  1. In a large 12-inch nonstick skillet heat the olive oil over medium heat. When hot, add the chicken and onions and saute, stirring occasionally, until the chicken is browned and cooked through. Remove the chicken and onions to a plate and set aside.
  2. In the same skillet, add the water, chicken broth, penne and salt. Bring to a boil and simmer for 12 to 15 minutes, until the liquid is almost absorbed, the pasta is tender and the mixture is thick and syrupy. Stir in the barbecue sauce and sour cream. Once mixed, add in the reserved chicken, onions and shredded cheeses. Stir to combine and cook until everything is heated through.
  3. Taste and season with salt and pepper, if needed. Garnish with additional red or green onions and more shredded cheese.

Damage (1 of 6 servings): 501 calories/65g carbs/14g fat/32g protein/5g fiber/25g sugar

There is supposed to be a hurricane coming on Monday (I am in the Tampa Bay area), but I constantly and consistently shrug those warnings off every time they come around.  I guess we’ll be in trouble if it gets serious.

Leave a Reply

