Let’s catch up

Happy holiday season HALLOWEEN CANDY SALES!  I did not have one piece of candy corn this year until yesterday when I picked up a bag for one dollar.  It was then I learned that I CANNOT stop eating them once I lay my eyes on the bag.  I also picked up my other Halloween favorites after being a jerk and refusing to buy candy at a 10000% profit margin to give out FOR FREE to kids I have never met before in my life.

I picked up the bags of fun size candy at Publix for $3 each and they will last in my freezer for months.  I am more excited than I should be.

I am so glad that I get to have TWO Thanksgiving dinners this year.  Last night, our Bible study group put on a Thanksgiving dinner potluck and I almost exploded my stomach.  Everyone was taking pictures of their heavy plates and I, the person with an actual blog, did not take a picture.  Let’s just say I probably carb-loaded enough to run two marathons today.  I will offer you my contribution to the meal and a delicious suggestion for a Thanksgiving side dish.  It’s very tasty and turns healthy fresh vegetables into vehicles for bacon.

Italian Green Beans with Bacon

Serves about 10 people

Ingredients

  • 2 lbs of fresh green beans, rinsed with ends cut
  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 medium garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/2-1 cup of seasoned breadcrumbs (you can also add Italian seasoning & parmesan cheese to plain breadcrumbs)
  • 6 pieces bacon, fried and chopped as thick or fine as your preference
  • Parmesan cheese
  • Salt & fresh cracked pepper

Directions

  1. Heat olive oil in a 12 inch skillet on medium-low and stir in garlic until fragrant, about 3 minutes (make sure the pan is NOT sizzling hot, or else the garlic will burn)
  2. Add beans and mix with breadcrumbs, mixing until beans are coated with breadcrumbs and oil
  3. Cover and cook for about 10 minutes on medium, until the beans are softened but still crisp
  4. Mix in bacon, season with salt, pepper and Parmesan cheese to taste

Damage: 128 calories/13g carbs/6g fat/5g protein/2g fiber/2g sugar

Do you guys like your candy frozen, refrigerated or at room temperature?  Halloween/fun size favorites?

My husband wants them refrigerated while I really just prefer to break my teeth on frozen snickers- they are so good to me.

Do you actually try to eat healthy during the holiday season?

This could be my first attempt (but I’ll also be running a lot more so I probably will end up eating way more sugar than I should), but I’ll NEVER restrict my eating for the actual holiday dinner.  That was never meant to be for anyone.

One thought on “Let’s catch up

  1. Pingback: Holiday dilemmas | Like a Fat Kid

Leave a Reply

