weather hangover

It is totally rain snowing outside and I am all alone in my parents house flailing around trying to stay warm.  Thank goodness I figured out how to work the ancient thermostat but now I am assured my parents will not be happy when the gas bill comes in next month :p  Sorry you turned your kid into a Floridian the day you let me go away to college.

misery

I do love coming up here and appreciating the cute quaintness that is New England but I have to say, Florida weather is just so appreciated and GLORIOUS.  I have turned into SUCH a baby and I lose all coping mechanisms when the weather hits below 50 degrees.  After a weekend at the in-laws and snuggling my CUTEST nieces and nephews, I am now stuck in Connecticut for 2 weeks (husband is in Philly for business) and will have to be dragged kicking and screaming out of the house if anyone wants me to go anywhere.  We already had this scenario multiple times in Rhode Island this weekend.

I know all of you are probably so over Thanksgiving now, but I will never be, as upon arriving back at my parents I resumed eating leftovers for every meal.  They are so incredible and there is NO WAY they are going to waste, damn the FDA and their guidelines.  I will not be satisfied until the last crumb is eaten! (You may want to pray for my digestive system for the rest of this week)  Is anybody with me on this?

I H-A-V-E to share the new sweet potato recipe I tried this year and I am not sorry about it at all.  I know a lot of people don’t like the whole dessert type sweet potato dish bit, but HELLO, sweet is IN THE NAME.  I am completely on board with it forever and if you are too, TRY THIS!  The browned butter gives it subtle caramel note and the topping is just divine.  You will feel like Paula Deen both making and consuming this so you may need to save it for the holidays.  Usually we bake the cut up yams from a can in the oven with some OJ, maple syrup, brown sugar and marshmallows on top but I have to thank Jessica from How Sweet It Is for taking our holiday dinner to a new level.

gooey goodness

Mashed Sweet Potato Casserole

Serves about 8, modified slightly from How Sweet It Is

ingredients:

sweet potatoes
2 pounds sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoons maple syrup
1/3 cup half and half
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons butter

oatmeal pecan crumble
1/2 cup whole, unsalted pecans, chopped
1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 tablespoon flour
1/4 cup old-fashioned oats
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
pinch of nutmeg
pinch of salt
2 tablespoons butter, softened
2 cups mini marshmallows

directions:

Peel and chop sweet potatoes into 1 1/2 inch cubes. Add to a pot with cold water, then bring to a boil. Cook until potatoes are fork tender, about 20-30 minutes, then drain. While sweet potatoes are cooking, add butter to a small saucepan over medium heat. Whisking constantly, cook until little brown bits appear in the pan – about 4-5 minutes. Remove immediately from heat and set aside.

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

In the bowl of an electric mixer (or a large bowl, using a hand mixer), add sweet potatoes. Add all remaining ingredients – sugar, syrup, spices, salt, vanilla extract, milk and brown butter – and mix on low speed until combined about 30 seconds. Mix on medium speed for another 1-2 minutes, until potatoes are whipped. Spread in an oven-safe pan or dish. I used an 9 x 2 1/2 round tart pan.

Combine oats, flour, pecans, spices and salt in a bowl and mix to thoroughly combine. Add in softened butter, and use your hands to completely moisten the mixture and clump it together. Sprinkle the crumble over the dish, and add marshmallows over the crumble to completely cover. Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until the marshmallows are gooey.

*Jessica used coconut milk instead of dairy milk and added coconut to the struesel.  Also, she puts the struesel just on the outside of the dish and marshmallows in the middle.  I wanted every bite to contain every component 🙂  You can view the original recipe at the source link before the photo.

Leave a Reply

