The old normal

Everything is now back to business as usual.

I ran my intervals for 3 miles at around a 9:30 pace (I HAVE SHORT LEGS), and I COOKED something last night.  That is revolutionary for me lately.  Our family has been living off of salads for the past few weeks since hurricane flu struck our household and miraculously I gained back 2 of the 5 pounds I lost during the illness even though I haven’t changed my strange eating habits at all since then.  It must have been that one piece of vanilla bean cheesecake from the weekend.  Did anyone else get the below cards during the holidays?  My family knows what I like, since we got over $100 in gift cards to Cheesecake Factory. I’ll take it as, “Raychel, you are far too skinny and need more fat and sugar on your tiny frame”.  (HAH)

So many gift cards…we already used up two!

Last night I made a new favorite pasta dish that doesn’t involve red sauce.  There are a lot of different variations of this on the internet, and it’s clearly not a hard or expensive dish to make, so play around with it.  This will definitely be added to my list of go-to inexpensive weeknight dinners!

Prosciutto Parmesan Pasta

Serves 6

Ingredients

  • 16oz whole wheat penne or other favorite pasta shape
  • 3 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 small cloves garlic, smashed
  • 1/2-1lb asparagus, chopped
  • 4-6oz prosciutto (I picked mine up at the deli counter,go for Prosciutto di Parma if you see it), cut into small strips
  • Pepper to taste
  • Shaved Parmesan cheese

Method

  1. Boil pasta according to package directions
  2. While pasta is cooking, heat olive oil in a skillet with smashed garlic cloves to infuse olive oil with garlic flavor
  3. Add asparagus and saute for about 3-5 minutes
  4. Pepper the prosciutto, then add to pan and saute with asparagus for another 2-3 minutes, until the prosciutto loses its color and the asparagus is tender
  5. (Optional) remove garlic cloves from your pan
  6. Mix in Parmesan cheese to desired taste.  I used about 1/2-2/3 cup total, and topped it with additional cheese after plating

Damage: 411 calories/55g carbs/12g fat/22g protein/8g fiber

**VERY IMPORTANT NOTE: Unless you want to gain 3 pounds in water weight in one night, DO NOT salt this dish- the prosciutto and Parmesan have all the salt and flavor you will need.

2 thoughts on “The old normal

Leave a Reply

