The devil’s been talkin’

Man, I REALLY want to get over this “hump” that is Wednesday.

Ever have ONE OF THOSE DAYS where the last thing you want to think about is work and how you feel like you are no contribution whatsoever and need to break out and do something ~meaningful~?  Yep, I am feeling quite restless, but I guess I can take comfort in this.

source: someecards.com

Let’s talk food instead.  I tried making soup yesterday since this is one of the only weeks in Florida this winter that felt remotely cold enough to have soup.  I always feel like an idiot making soup in Florida.

I picked something that seemed healthy enough, but came to find it only filled me up for approximately one minute after eating a serving of it, therefore I recommend this in smaller portions as a comforting side dish to whatever hearty goodness you are cooking to comfort your soul in your everlasting winter (I am so sorry that this winter is never-ending for you guys, and continue to ponder reasons why all of my family and friends continue to complain about it in public forums yet never ever ever come visit me down here.  I am hurt)

Also, you didn’t hear it from me, but I think this would taste 68% better if you added a little cream or milk to it.

As you can see, I should have made cookies instead of soup considering where my mind is right now, but I can happily tell you that I do have some frozen thin mints to pick me up from this reflection of self-pity.

I also lost my camera today, I’m really doing a good job at life

Bacon, Tomato & White Bean Soup

Modified slightly from rachaelraymag.com //  Makes: 4 servings

ingredients

  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1/2 pound bacon, chopped
  • 2 red or white onions, finely chopped
  • 3 – 4 cloves garlic, thinly sliced
  • 1 fresno chile pepper, thinly sliced
  • 2 large bay leaves
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh thyme (this was too much thyme for me so I only used 1 tbsp)
  • salt and pepper
  • 1 28 – 32 ounce can  san marzano tomatoes
  • 2 cups tomato puree
  • 2 cups chicken stock
  • 1 15 ounce can  cannellini (white kidney) beans, drained (you can easily double this based on preference, I didn’t feel like there were enough beans in my spoonfulls)
  • grated pecorino-romano, for sprinkling
directions

  1. In a medium dutch oven, heat 1 tbsp. olive oil over medium-high heat. Add the bacon and cook until browned, about 7-10 minutes. Remove with a slotted spoon. Drain off most of the fat.
  2. Add the onions, garlic, pepper, bay leaves, thyme, a little salt and lots of pepper. Partially cover and cook, stirring occasionally, for 12 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, tomato puree and chicken stock, breaking up the tomatoes with a wooden spoon. Stir in the beans and bacon and simmer for about 15 minutes.

Damage: 354 Calories/52g carbs/8g fat/20g protein/15g fiber

5 thoughts on “The devil’s been talkin’

  1. Recipe sounds great maybe adding some almond milk would sweeten the deal! I have not come across any girl scouts yet so I am envious of your thin mints (my favorite) enjoy your sweets! LOVE + SHINE COURTSTAR

Leave a Reply

