Cheap Enchiladas

Do you ever look at the amount you’ve spent on groceries at the end of the month and wonder WHERE THE HECK it all went to?  This happens to me all the time.  I have laxed my previous $70/week budget and not sticking to ANYTHING can really do a damper when you are evaluating monthly expenditures.  Anyway, this month was a big one with both eating out AND groceries- I don’t know how that happened.

My first thought for this week was to go vegetarian of course.  Easiest way to be cheap in my mind.

I needed something tasty but filling AND a dish that would leave us with lots of leftovers.  I did this and managed to get away with only making two meals this whole week.

Just call me superwife.

As much disdain as I have for the other Rachael that spells her name normally, I am NOT MAD at her magazine and especially can’t hate it when it contains money conscious recipes.  I am all about cheap, all of the time.  The magazine claims that each serving cost $2.63, which is pretty accurate in my experience.  Rachael Ray’s recipes are usually restaurant level fattening, so I tend to have to do a little work on them.

Example: Frying the corn tortillas before rolling the enchiladas.  You will live if you just spray the pan – in fact, you will live longer if you do that instead.  I also used the below tortillas instead of corn to add extra fiber and some protein. Staying full is my number one mission in life.

 I swapped black beans for pintos, I just like them better.  I changed a lot of things in this recipe, so my version is below (with absolutely no taste compromise).  If you want the full fat, full calorie version, you can find it here.  My new recipe is as follows, and no picture because it looks disgusting but tastes OH SO GOOD.  Sorry, I break good blogger rules everyday, but trust me on this one.

Black Bean Enchiladas Verde

Serves 4, adapted from Everyday with Rachael Ray

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup brown rice
  • salt
  • 1 15oz can of black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 cups shredded monterey jack cheese
  • 4 scallions, chopped
  • 3oz reduced fat cream cheese
  • 1 2/3 cups salsa verde
  • 2/3 cups half and half or milk (Half and half is reflected in nutrition facts)
  • 1/2 cup chopped cilantro
  • 6 high fiber/whole wheat tortillas

Method

  1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees
  2. In a small saucepan, bring 1 cup water, the rice and salt to a boil over high heat. Lower the heat to low, cover and cook until the water is absorbed, about 15 minutes. Fluff with a fork and transfer to a medium bowl to cool slightly. Add the beans, 1 cup shredded cheese, the scallions and cream cheese; stir gently.
  3. In a blender or food processor, blend the salsa verde, cream/milk, and cilantro.  (HINT: I just used the cilantro in a tube so I didn’t need to blend this, I just combined in a separate bowl)
  4. Place about 1/2 cup of the mixture in each tortilla, roll up and place seam side down in a greased baking dish.  Pour the sauce over the top and sprinkle with the remaining Monterey jack. Bake until bubbly, about 20 minutes. Top with more cilantro if desired.

Damage*: 470 calories/54g carbs/17g fat/26g protein/19g fiber

*These nutrition facts reflect usage of half and half and reduced fat shredded cheese
Leave a Reply

