I never need to get takeout again.

Real talk.

Every recipe introduction and blog post that I have read which made WILD CLAIMS such as this I immediately dismissed. That is until I went on my Asian streak in the past 3 weeks and found this fantastic stroke of luck of discovering 3 “take out” recipes in a row that were so delicious and satisfying, not to mention cheaper and healthier too.

I am having a great week.

I figured out how to make crunchy chicken without deep frying, I got a new wireless mouse in the mail (my other one was the first wireless mouse ever manufactured), and a small minor detail I have seemed to left out until now: we bought a house.

It was a fairy tale story of us losing a perfect home, then in the least expected moment getting that call that our backup offer was accepted because the first offer fell through.  But enough about that- my husband is already packing and we aren’t even 30 days out from closing yet and financing this thing is giving me agita up the you know what, as expected.

BUT THIS BLOG ENTRY ISN’T ABOUT THAT.  IT’S ABOUT GLORIOUS CHINESE FOOD.

I used to yell at my dad for being so cocky and bragging and raving about food he cooked, and here I am, some 10 years later being overly impressed with my efforts.  Except I didn’t  create this recipe and my dad created all of the recipes he’s ever fawned over.

Okay okay, here is the recipe.  My computer’s graphic card just turned my screen a lovely shade of sky blue so if the photo is wonky (I can’t really edit it or even see it), you will know why.  Not that my photos are ever appetizing.

Honey Garlic Chicken

Serves 4//from dainty-chef.com

Ingredients

  • 1.5-2 lbs boneless skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tsp salt
  • 2 tsp black pepper
  • 1 1/2 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tbsp ground nutmeg
  • 1 tsp ground thyme
  • 1 tsp ground sage
  • 1 tbsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 2 eggs
  • 4 tbsp water

Sauce

  • 2 tbsp olive oil
  • 3 – 4 cloves minced garlic
  • 3/4-1 cup honey (depending on how sweet you want it, I used probably 1/4-1/2 cup actually)
  • ¼ cup soy sauce
  • 1 tsp ground black pepper

Method

  1. Combine the flour and spices together in a medium bowl. Prepare the egg wash by gently beating together the eggs and water. Pound the chicken breasts so that they are even and on the thinner side and season with salt and pepper. Dip the meat into the flour mixture, followed by the egg wash, and one more time in the flour mixture.
  2. Heat a skillet with a half of an inch of grapeseed oil (or another low smoke oil). When the oil is hot, reduce the heat to medium and fry the chicken breasts for about 5 minutes on each side or until golden brown and crispy.  Transfer to a baking sheet or plate lined with paper towels.
  3. While the chicken cooks, prepare the sauce. Combine the oil and garlic in a medium saucepan, cook on low for about 3-5 minutes, making sure the garlic does not brown. To the garlic, add the honey, soy sauce, and pepper. Simmer together for 5-10 minutes. Remove from heat and allow to cool. Dip the cooked chicken breasts into the sauce and serve over noodles or rice.

Damage*: 485 calories//37g carbs//17g fat//45g protein//1g fiber//14g sugar

*this will vary because of the frying, I used a calculation where you’d use 2 tbsp oil for the frying pan.  I’m sure this can be baked, but I haven’t tried it so I cannot speak to its potential of success.  It would take away about 7g fat per serving
Leave a Reply

