Chocolate Chip Espresso Bars

It is hard to believe what one can accomplish in between working a full time job and going out of town for a wedding in just two short months. I have never had a real interest in interior design but I suppose all you had to do was give me a house that is MINE (well, the banks’ for now) and someone better put a hold on my bank account stat because all my prior ridiculous frugality has gone out the window of the last rental home we will hopefully ever need.

I have certainly painted before so hooking up the family room, and first guest bedroom were easy as pie.  We saved the smallest room for last and just thought that the asinine black molding the room had would magically turn white if we painted it hard enough.  No such luck, and we weren’t feeling the whole sanding thing for hours on end.  Goodbye black molding (next will be that fan and the popcorn ceiling).

So I had to tell you all of this just to say that I needed a baking break on Sunday and made Espresso Bars.  They were a long time coming and a nice change from the typical chocolate chip cookie (though why we’d need a change from those I wouldn’t know).  I got the recipe from this website but I ignored the instant coffee part (who has instant coffee around?) and actually made a short espresso.  I knew it would create a more liquid batter and I was okay with that.  These are very buttery and moist and the ends were more of a shortbread texture (no eggs make it nice and crumbly).  I liked them, but if I ever make these again, I think I’ll subtract just a tablespoon of butter to make up for the extra liquid (this recipe could stand to have less fat, the cookie is a touch greasy).  Also, totally use these instead of chips:

And all of the sudden I feel like a pastry chef.  But I am giving you the recipe how it is because I haven’t tested it with my adaptation ideas (other than the actual espresso).  If you are looking for something that resembles a moist chocolate chip cookie bar, use the espresso, or else it’ll be more dry and crumbly.  Your choice.

CHOCOLATE CHIP COFFEE BARS

Makes about 20 bars

  • 1 cup unsalted butter, softened
  • 1 cup light brown sugar
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 short espresso (about 4 tbsp of liquid)
  • 2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 cup chocolate chips
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a 9 x 13 inch baking pan with parchment paper
  2. Using an electric mixer, beat the coffee, butter, sugar and vanilla until combined and creamy
  3. Add the flour, salt, cinnamon and baking powder and mix on a low speed until just combined.  Fold in the chocolate chips.
  4. Pour the mixture into your tray and press it flat with your hands if crumbly
  5. Bake for 5 minutes, then rotate the tray 180 degrees and bake for a further 5-10 minutes, until it begins to turn golden.
  6. Allow to cool before cutting into rectangles

Damage (1 rectangle): 206 calories//25g carbs//12g fat//2g protein//1g fiber//14g sugar

Leave a comment